Saint Peterb(TM)s Keydren Clark Named All-Met Player of the Year - - The Official Website of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference

Saint Peterb(TM)s Keydren Clark Named All-Met Player of the Year

Courtesy:  -
Release:  April 19, 2005

New York, NY -- Keydren Clark of Saint Peter?™s was named winner Wednesday of the 72nd Haggerty Award as All-Met Division I men?™s college basketball player of the year by the National Invitation Tournament and the Met Basketball Writers Association.

Tom Green of Fairleigh Dickinson was selected coach of the year. Bryant Dunston of Fordham was named rookie of the year.

Other members of the All-Met first team: Daryll Hill, St. John?™s; Loren Stokes, Hofstra; Peter Mulligan, Manhattan; Jerry Johnson, Rider; Deng Gai, Fairfield.

Members of the second team include: Gordon Klaiber, FDU; Bryant Dunston, Fordham; Blake Hamilton, Monmouth; Steve Burtt and Greg Jenkins, Iona; and Quincy Douby, Rutgers.

The third team includes: Ricky Shields, Rutgers; C.J. Anderson, Manhattan; Lamont Hamilton, St. John?™s; Matt Preston, Columbia; and Tamien Trent, FDU.

A junior guard from New York City, Clark led the nation in scoring for the second straight season with 25.8 ppg, was second nationally with 3.9 3-pointers per game (109 overall) and third in the nation with 3.3 steals per game. In three seasons, he has scored 2,218 points (25.8 ppg) and his 330 3-point baskets are 83 shy of the Division I career record.